Open Carry

The Texas legislature passed “an open carry bill,” which went into effect on January 1, 2016.  It allows citizens to carry a holstered handgun, either openly or concealed, as long as they have a valid handgun license. If a license holder is openly carrying a handgun, it must be in either a belt or shoulder holster. 

For a better understanding of the law, its enforcement and how to apply for a license, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety's Frequently Asked Questions informational page.

Please note that license holders are prohibited  per Section 30.06 or 30.07 of the Texas Penal Code if a sign is properly posted or the individual is trespassing.

Additionally, open carry and concealed weapons are prohibited:
 

1) on the physical premises of a school or educational institution, any grounds or building on which an activity      sponsored by a school or educational institution is being conducted, or in a passenger transportation vehicle of a school or    educational institution, whether the school or educational institution is public or private, unless pursuant to written regulations  or written authorization of the institution;

2) on the premises of a polling place on the day of an election or while early voting is in progress;

3) on the premises of any government court or offices utilized by the court, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the court;

4) on the premises of a racetrack;

5) into a secured area of an airport;

6) within 1,000 feet of a premises, the location of which is designated by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice as a place of execution on a day that a sentence of death is set to be imposed on the designated premises and the person received notice that doing so is prohibited;

7) on the premises of a business that is licensed by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission and that derives 51 percent or more of its business from the sale of alcohol;

8) if the license holder is given written or verbal notice pursuant to Penal Code Section 30.06 that concealed carrying is prohibited, on the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting event is taking place, unless the handgun is used for the event;

9) on the premises of a correctional facility;

10) if the license holder is given written or verbal notice pursuant to Penal Code Section 30.06 and/or 30.07 that carrying is prohibited, on the premises of a state-licensed hospital or nursing home, unless the administration has granted written permission to the license holder;

11) if the license holder is given written or verbal notice pursuant to Penal Code Section 30.06 and/or 30.07 that carrying is prohibited, in an amusement park;

12) if the license holder is given written or verbal notice pursuant to Penal Code Section 30.06 and/or 30.07 that carrying is prohibited, on the premises of a church, synagogue, or other established place of religious worship;

13) anytime the handgun is not in a belt or shoulder holster or properly concealed;

14) if the license holder is intoxicated; or

15) if the license holder is given written or verbal notice pursuant to Penal Code Section 30.06 and/or 30.07 that carrying is prohibited, into an open meeting of a governmental entity.

 


open carry